Social Media Worlds Collide

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SxuYdzs4SS8

George’s worlds collide in the Seinfeld scene above.   “If Relationship George walks through this door, he will KILL Independent George .”

So I thought the case would be for me and social media.  I am happy to say I was terribly wrong.

My age: 26
My facebook activated: 2004
Number of rated R/X photos and comments: Your guess is as good as mine…

This has been my dilemma for the past couple years since the real estate industry decided to take on social media.

How on earth can I share my facebook account with these people?  The very people I strive to instill confidence in me and PlanOmatic on a daily basis.  Surely, seeing photos of me screaming at the top of my lungs at my fraternity house in 2004 will eat away at my professional reputation.  Surely, my clients will think I’m a joke… Or will they?

Earlier this summer I caved.  That’s right.  I said “caved”.  I use this term because facebook has always been my shelter.  My alternative reality where it didn’t matter what I said, or what I was doing.  A world where my business didn’t follow me, and no one but my friends and family judged me.  It didn’t matter that I was doing a keg-stand in a photo album named “Black-Out Sunday.”

This world is over:

College Senior Year Roommates
College Senior Year Roommates

A new world is born:

Inman Real Estate Connect San Francisco 2009
Inman Real Estate Connect San Francisco 2009

I sat down to lunch with a relatively new friend earlier this summer.  I explained to him my “situation.”  He was baffled and looked at me as if I was being ridiculous.  From my best recollection, his response went something like: “What do you mean you don’t want them to see your photos?  You mean, you don’t want your clients and colleagues to know who you are?”  to which I replied “But what if I happen to be in an album where people are doing, say,  illegal things?”  to which he replied “If they recognize what it is, they’ve probably done it.”    It occurred to me then that he was right.  Who was I hiding from?  We’re all human in this industry.  That’s what I love about it.

So, here I am, ready and hoping to network with others in real estate on facebook.  I haven’t censored my history.  I haven’t turned on any new privacy settings.  It’s me in the raw.  Kori Covrigaru.  The same Kori who had “fun” in college.  The same Kori who is now CEO of PlanOmatic.  I hope you like me.

Facebook is a marvel, and has changed the way people interact with each other.  It’s been such a good, fun tool in my social life.  It would be a great shame not to use it for business.  Who knows, I might even make a new friend or two 🙂

How about you? Any social media world dilemmas?  Ever judge someone based on their profile?  Please share your thoughts and experiences.

~ Kori Covrigaru
@KoriCov
Facebook Me

Leave a Reply

